Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
News & Press: News

2017 Fire Department of the Year Award Winner

Thursday, October 5, 2017  
Share |


Sigel Named 2017 Fire Department of the Year


BLOOMINGTON, IL – The Sigel Fire Department was honored as the Fire Department of the Year at the 136th Convention of the Illinois Association of Mutual Insurance Companies in August. Chief Troy Althoff and Assistant Chief Joe Vogt were in attendance to accept the award.

Nominated by two member Mutuals – Sigel Mutual and Home Farmers Mutual, the Sigel Fire Department covers 75 square miles and has 22 active volunteers; two of them are instructor-certified, two are advanced and 12 are basic. They built a new fire station in 2013, adding a pumper truck – all without federal assistance. They also received auto rescue status in 2015, as well as all new turnout gear from FEMA grants.

Firefighters are known for their dedication, and the Sigel department continues to grow and strive to be the best for their community. They willingly risk their lives for complete strangers, being called our at all times of the day and night and fight fires and perform rescues in all types of weather conditions.

As active as they are brave and committed, the Sigel Fire Department is a model for the many fire departments in our state. The dedication and determination this department has diligently showed toward the betterment and safety of their community earns them badges of honor with every service call. IAMIC is honored to present them with this award.

The Illinois Association of Mutual Insurance Companies is a trade association comprised of farm mutual insurance companies. Mutual insurance, like the farming industry, has been a part of the Illinois landscape for well over a century. IAMIC provides member companies with the educational opportunities, professional development, legislative support, and industry recognition.



Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal